List of Statisticians

At PFCS, we take a scientific approach to our analysis, and we do a better job at performing unbiased statistical analysis on our projects than any other experts we've seen. We've written internal standards on how this should be performed, and have even delivered a Random Selection and Extrapolation of Construction Defects program to the public. Often, it is necessary to collaborate with a statistician to validate our method at trial. While we've personally worked with a hand-full statisticians over the years, we were interested to see who else our clients have worked with in the past. So we sent the following email to all of our current and past clients:

I need a little help. I need a good referral.

I am looking for a good statistician to work with on projects (legal cases, mostly), and to refer to clients (usually lawyers or insurance companies). He or she will need to evaluate and testify about the problems with extrapolation based on poor sample selection methods in building performance evaluations (generally construction defect cases). In addition, s/he will need to evaluate my company's investigation method, including our random selection protocol, and be able to explain in a scientific but understandable way... that it's awesome ;-)

The results were impressive. We received many responses with statisticians up and down the west coast and beyond, even as far as Georgia! A brief break-down of our results:

  • 1,737 emails sent to our clients
  • 437 responses
  • 109 referrals
  • 64 statisticians
  • 4 with 5-9 glowing recommendations each

The following 4 statisticians were highly recommended by several clients each:

Ronald Farina, Ph.D. - Farina & Associates 5160 Idylwild Trail Boulder, CO 80301 T: 720-938-6874 E: ronaldfarina@comcast.net

Gary Lorden, Ph.D. - LordenStats / Professor of Mathematics - California Institute of Technology Pasadena, CA T: 626-395-4349 E: glorden@caltech.edu

Duane L. Steffey, Ph.D. - Exponent 149 Commonwealth Drive Menlo Park, CA 94025 T: 650-688-7262 E: dsteffey@exponent.com

John R. Weeks, Ph.D. - San Diego State University Distinguished Professor of Geography San Diego, CA T: 619-594-8040 E: john.weeks@sdsu.edu

The full results of our survey are below:

  1. Ronald Farina, Ph.D., Farina & Associates - T: (720) 938-6874 E: ronaldfarina@comcast.net
  2. Gary Lorden, Ph.D., LordenStats / California Institute of Technology - T: (626) 395-4349 E: glorden@caltech.edu
  3. Duane L. Steffey, Ph.D., Exponent - T: (650) 688-7262 E: dsteffey@exponent.com
  4. John R. Weeks, Ph.D., San Diego State University - T: (619) 890-8452, (619) 594-8040 E: john.weeks@sdsu.edu
  5. Tim Anderson, Portland State University
  6. Jay Bartroff, USC - T: (213) 740-1044 E: bartroff@usc.edu
  7. Dr. Paul Baum, Ph.D., CSU Northridge - T: (818) 497-7759 - Cell, (818) 677-2413 - Office, (818) 677-6079 - Fax E: paul.baum@csun.edu
  8. Carol Benassi, Zurich North America
  9. Stefan Boedeker, Berkeley Research Group, LLC - T: (310) 499-4924 - Direct, (213) 705-1324 - Cell E: sboedeker@brg-expert.com
  10. Brian Bontempo, Mountain Measurement - T: (503) 284-1288 E: brian@mountainmeasurement.com
  11. Linda Brown - T: (478) 918-6464 E: brownla@mindspring.com
  12. Thomas Carroll, Thomas Carroll & Associates - T: (702) 263-8044 E: statisticalforensics@gmail.com
  13. Dr. Louis Anthony ""Tony"" Cox, Ph.D., Cox & Associates - T: (303) 570-2643 - Cell, (303) 388-1778 - Office, (303) 388-0609 - Fax E: tcoxdenver@aol.com
  14. Paul DeBoer, RGL Forensics - E: pdeboer@us.rgl.com
  15. Steve Duree, Duree Barton P.C. - T: (303) 293-9966 - Office, (303) 437-0361 - Cell, (303) 320-0436 - Home E: sduree@duree.com
  16. Steve Eso - T: (760) 435-9663 - Home, (760) 650-6273 - Cell E: s_eso@yahoo.com
  17. Adrian R. Flessing, RGL Forensics - T: (714) 740-6161 E: aflessing@us.rgl.com
  18. Bob Fountain, Portland State University - T: (503) 725-5204 E: fountainr@pdx.edu
  19. Bruce Gates - E: brucegates@comcast.net
  20. Phillips Gorman - T: (626) 744-3540
  21. Kyle Jacobson, Taylor, Jacobsen - T: (303) 987-8999
  22. Joe Kanada
  23. Dr. Colleen Kelly, Kelly Statistical Consulting - T: (760) 846-6763 E: kstat.consulting@gmail.com
  24. Jeffrey H. Kinrich, Analysis Group - T: (213) 896-4544 E: jkinrich@analysisgroup.com
  25. Joeseph A. Krok, PhD, The Claro Group, LLC - T: (213) 784-3079 - Office, (310) 213-7776 - Cell, (213) 452-6556 - Fax E: jkrock@theclarogroup.com
  26. Mark Kuga, Delta Economics
  27. Jim Lackritz, San Diego State University
  28. John Landry
  29. Richard Laton, CSU Fullerton - E: wlaton@fullerton.edu
  30. Jeff Leedom, Price Waterhouse Coopers - E: jeff.leedom@us.pwc.com
  31. Robert Lenk, RDLenk - T: (805) 350-0969 E: consulting@rdlenk.com
  32. Bill Lepowsky - T: (510) 524-2101
  33. M. Laurentius Marais, William E. Wecker Associates, Inc. - T: (415) 898-2255
  34. Phil Martinson, Phil Martinson Engineering, Inc. - T: (503) 557-1555 E: phil@pmeng.com
  35. Richard McCleary, UCI - Social Ecology Program - T: (949) 824-7280 E: mccleary@uci.edu
  36. Jim Meeker, UCI - Social Ecology Program - T: (949) 824-1463 E: jwmeeker@uci.edu
  37. Jubin Merati
  38. Chris Money, Hagen, Streiff, Newton & Oshiro Accountants - T: (714) 750-4007, (949) 251-1133 E: cmoney@hsno.com
  39. Cynthia Mulvihill, Geico
  40. Jeya Padmanaban, JP Research - T: (650) 559-5970 - Office, (650) 559-5980 - Fax E: jeya@jpresearch.com
  41. Ana Panorska, University of Nevada - T: (775) 784-6548 E: ania@unr.edu
  42. Mike Phillips
  43. Dean Plager, Quantitative Decision Support - T: (603) 431-1120 E: plager@comcast.net
  44. Dr. S. James Press, UC Riverside - T: (951) 827-4241 E: jpress@ucr.edu
  45. Dan Ray, Hemming Morse - T: (415) 836-4000
  46. Rose Ray, Ph.D., Exponent - T: (650) 688-7264 E: rray@exponent.com
  47. Jay Sickler, Cogence Group - T: (503) 467-7900 - Office, (503) 467-7901 - Direct
  48. Steve Simmons - T: (714) 350-2220 E: sballsim2@gmail.com
  49. Steve Sloman
  50. Roland Sorge
  51. Scott Stewart
  52. Michael Sullivan - T: (415) 777-0707 E: michaelsullivan@fscgroup.com
  53. Greg Taylor, Taylor, Jacobsen - T: (303) 987-8999
  54. Audrey Thompson, Datalogix
  55. Bill Thompson, UCI - Social Ecology Program - T: (949) 824-6156 E: wcthomps@uci.edu
  56. Robert R. Trout, Ph.D. - T: (760) 944-9721 E: ecnxprt@aol.com
  57. Ted M. S. Vavoulis, Vavoulis & Weiner - T: (213) 817-6600
  58. Lynne Weber, Duff & Phelps - T: (650) 798-5500
  59. William E. Wecker, William E. Wecker Associates, Inc. - T: (415) 898-2255
  60. Stephen Wexler, Wexco - T: (310) 306-3877 E: wexler@wexco.net
  61. Gerry Williams - T: (503) 318-1174
  62. Jack Williamson, 3C Advisors & Associates
  63. Michael Willoughby, UC San Diego - T: (213) 880-0789 E: mwilloughby@ucsd.edu
  64. Dr. Jeffrey Wilson, Arizona State University - T: (480) 965-5628 - Office (480) 213-4460 - Cell E: jeffrey.wilson@asu.edu