;
Contact Us: 866-706-7327

List of Statisticians

At PFCS, we take a scientific approach to our analysis, and we do a better job at performing unbiased statistical analysis on our projects than any other experts we've seen. We've written internal standards on how this should be performed, and have even delivered a Random Selection and Extrapolation of Construction Defects program to the public. Often, it is necessary to collaborate with a statistician to validate our method at trial. While we've personally worked with a hand-full statisticians over the years, we were interested to see who else our clients have worked with in the past. So we sent the following email to all of our current and past clients:

I need a little help. I need a good referral.

I am looking for a good statistician to work with on projects (legal cases, mostly), and to refer to clients (usually lawyers or insurance companies). He or she will need to evaluate and testify about the problems with extrapolation based on poor sample selection methods in building performance evaluations (generally construction defect cases). In addition, s/he will need to evaluate my company's investigation method, including our random selection protocol, and be able to explain in a scientific but understandable way... that it's awesome ;-)

The results were impressive. We received many responses with statisticians up and down the west coast and beyond, even as far as Georgia! A brief break-down of our results:

  • 1,737 emails sent to our clients

  • 437 responses

  • 109 referrals

  • 64 statisticians

  • 4 with 5-9 glowing recommendations each

The following 4 statisticians were highly recommended by several clients each:

Ronald Farina, Ph.D. - Farina & Associates 5160 Idylwild Trail Boulder, CO 80301 T: 720-938-6874 E: ronaldfarina@comcast.net

Gary Lorden, Ph.D. - LordenStats / Professor of Mathematics - California Institute of Technology Pasadena, CA T: 626-395-4349 E: glorden@caltech.edu

Duane L. Steffey, Ph.D. - Exponent 149 Commonwealth Drive Menlo Park, CA 94025 T: 650-688-7262 E: dsteffey@exponent.com

John R. Weeks, Ph.D. - San Diego State University Distinguished Professor of Geography San Diego, CA T: 619-594-8040 E: john.weeks@sdsu.edu

The full results of our survey are below:

  1. Ronald Farina, Ph.D., Farina & Associates - T: (720) 938-6874 E: ronaldfarina@comcast.net

  2. Gary Lorden, Ph.D., LordenStats / California Institute of Technology - T: (626) 395-4349 E: glorden@caltech.edu

  3. Duane L. Steffey, Ph.D., Exponent - T: (650) 688-7262 E: dsteffey@exponent.com

  4. John R. Weeks, Ph.D., San Diego State University - T: (619) 890-8452, (619) 594-8040 E: john.weeks@sdsu.edu

  5. Tim Anderson, Portland State University

  6. Jay Bartroff, USC - T: (213) 740-1044 E: bartroff@usc.edu

  7. Dr. Paul Baum, Ph.D., CSU Northridge - T: (818) 497-7759 - Cell, (818) 677-2413 - Office, (818) 677-6079 - Fax E: paul.baum@csun.edu

  8. Carol Benassi, Zurich North America

  9. Stefan Boedeker, Berkeley Research Group, LLC - T: (310) 499-4924 - Direct, (213) 705-1324 - Cell E: sboedeker@brg-expert.com

  10. Brian Bontempo, Mountain Measurement - T: (503) 284-1288 E: brian@mountainmeasurement.com

  11. Linda Brown - T: (478) 918-6464 E: brownla@mindspring.com

  12. Thomas Carroll, Thomas Carroll & Associates - T: (702) 263-8044 E: statisticalforensics@gmail.com

  13. Dr. Louis Anthony ""Tony"" Cox, Ph.D., Cox & Associates - T: (303) 570-2643 - Cell, (303) 388-1778 - Office, (303) 388-0609 - Fax E: tcoxdenver@aol.com

  14. Paul DeBoer, RGL Forensics - E: pdeboer@us.rgl.com

  15. Steve Duree, Duree Barton P.C. - T: (303) 293-9966 - Office, (303) 437-0361 - Cell, (303) 320-0436 - Home E: sduree@duree.com

  16. Dwight Duncan - dwight@econlit.net

  17. Steve Eso - T: (760) 435-9663 - Home, (760) 650-6273 - Cell E: s_eso@yahoo.com

  18. Adrian R. Flessing, RGL Forensics - T: (714) 740-6161 E: aflessing@us.rgl.com

  19. Bob Fountain, Portland State University - T: (503) 725-5204 E: fountainr@pdx.edu

  20. Bruce Gates - E: brucegates@comcast.net

  21. Phillips Gorman - T: (626) 744-3540

  22. Kyle Jacobson, Taylor, Jacobsen - T: (303) 987-8999

  23. Joe Kanada

  24. Dr. Colleen Kelly, Kelly Statistical Consulting - T: (760) 846-6763 E: kstat.consulting@gmail.com

  25. Jeffrey H. Kinrich, Analysis Group - T: (213) 896-4544 E: jkinrich@analysisgroup.com

  26. Joeseph A. Krok, PhD, The Claro Group, LLC - T: (213) 784-3079 - Office, (310) 213-7776 - Cell, (213) 452-6556 - Fax E: jkrock@theclarogroup.com

  27. Mark Kuga, Delta Economics

  28. Jim Lackritz, San Diego State University

  29. John Landry

  30. Richard Laton, CSU Fullerton - E: wlaton@fullerton.edu

  31. Jeff Leedom, Price Waterhouse Coopers - E: jeff.leedom@us.pwc.com

  32. Robert Lenk, RDLenk - T: (805) 350-0969 E: consulting@rdlenk.com

  33. Bill Lepowsky - T: (510) 524-2101

  34. M. Laurentius Marais, William E. Wecker Associates, Inc. - T: (415) 898-2255

  35. Phil Martinson, Phil Martinson Engineering, Inc. - T: (503) 557-1555 E: phil@pmeng.com

  36. Richard McCleary, UCI - Social Ecology Program - T: (949) 824-7280 E: mccleary@uci.edu

  37. Jim Meeker, UCI - Social Ecology Program - T: (949) 824-1463 E: jwmeeker@uci.edu

  38. Jubin Merati

  39. Chris Money, Hagen, Streiff, Newton & Oshiro Accountants - T: (714) 750-4007, (949) 251-1133 E: cmoney@hsno.com

  40. Cynthia Mulvihill, Geico

  41. Jeya Padmanaban, JP Research - T: (650) 559-5970 - Office, (650) 559-5980 - Fax E: jeya@jpresearch.com

  42. Ana Panorska, University of Nevada - T: (775) 784-6548 E: ania@unr.edu

  43. Mike Phillips

  44. Dean Plager, Quantitative Decision Support - T: (603) 431-1120 E: plager@comcast.net

  45. Dr. S. James Press, UC Riverside - T: (951) 827-4241 E: jpress@ucr.edu

  46. Dan Ray, Hemming Morse - T: (415) 836-4000

  47. Rose Ray, Ph.D., Exponent - T: (650) 688-7264 E: rray@exponent.com

  48. Jay Sickler, Cogence Group - T: (503) 467-7900 - Office, (503) 467-7901 - Direct

  49. Steve Simmons - T: (714) 350-2220 E: sballsim2@gmail.com

  50. Steve Sloman

  51. Roland Sorge

  52. Scott Stewart

  53. Michael Sullivan - T: (415) 777-0707 E: michaelsullivan@fscgroup.com

  54. Greg Taylor, Taylor, Jacobsen - T: (303) 987-8999

  55. Audrey Thompson, Datalogix

  56. Bill Thompson, UCI - Social Ecology Program - T: (949) 824-6156 E: wcthomps@uci.edu

  57. Robert R. Trout, Ph.D. - T: (760) 944-9721 E: ecnxprt@aol.com

  58. Ted M. S. Vavoulis, Vavoulis & Weiner - T: (213) 817-6600

  59. Lynne Weber, Duff & Phelps - T: (650) 798-5500

  60. William E. Wecker, William E. Wecker Associates, Inc. - T: (415) 898-2255

  61. Stephen Wexler, Wexco - T: (310) 306-3877 E: wexler@wexco.net

  62. Gerry Williams - T: (503) 318-1174

  63. Jack Williamson, 3C Advisors & Associates

  64. Michael Willoughby, UC San Diego - T: (213) 880-0789 E: mwilloughby@ucsd.edu

  65. Dr. Jeffrey Wilson, Arizona State University - T: (480) 965-5628 - Office (480) 213-4460 - Cell E: jeffrey.wilson@asu.edu